For the first time since July…

Standard

I turned on the oven.  As you might have guessed, nausea 24/7 and total exhaustion, did not equal home-cooked meals.  At first I couldn’t even look at anything that wasn’t a cracker and even when that subsided a handful of weeks ago, the idea of doing anything with my free time except napping seemed like insanity.

But last night, Arion called to say he would be home in time for dinner and to think about what I wanted to order-in.   Sorry for those of you who don’t live in NYC, where ordering-in is easy and you can get any kind of food at any time of day/night.  Very convenient for a lazy exhausted wife growing a baby.  Anyway, something changed and I thought – I’ll surprise him with dinner!!!!  So off to the grocery store (IN THE RAIN) I went, to pick up some ingredients.  I wanted to start easy since I didn’t want to get burnt out again after the first try, so a go-to dish was in order: Apricot Chicken, cous-cous, and asparagus.   I turned on some loud music (likely Britney Spears or Glee re-make related) and felt like my old self again enjoying the kitchen.  I LOVE to cook.  And it was so sad that I didn’t have it in me for so long, but after last night – I’M BACK!

BAM – dinner is served (recipes below).

photo_2a

Apricot Chicken:

  • 4 breasts of chicken, pounded thin
  • 1 beaten egg
  • Seasoned bread crumbs
  • 12 oz. jar of apricot preserves
  • 1/3 cup of chicken broth
  • 2 tbsp. margarine

Dip chicken in egg and bread crumbs.  Place in baking dish.  Heat preserves, broth, and margarine over low heat until slow boil.  Pour over chicken.  Bake at 350 for one hour, covered.

Cous-Cous: I’m no rock star out of the gate, this came from a box and was parmesan flavored Smile

Asparagus: Line-up in a pan, drizzle with olive oil, salt, and pepper.  Bake for about 20 min at 350.

Next up…. actually it’s a surprise for Arion, so you’ll have to wait and see.

blogsig

Leave a Reply

