What a sweet new year it is!

Standard

Yesterday marked the first time in 8 years that I have not hosted and made a Rosh Hashanah dinner for our family and friends.  I anticipated this outcome almost 15 weeks ago, yet still last night, I had to stop a minute and be ok with the fact that I was not going to be making 30 matzah balls, lemon chicken, and a kugel for the people I love.  Yes, it’s a lot of work, but I love it.  I love getting our home ready to welcome our family and friends.  I love the smell of chicken soup cooking on the stove.  I love the kitchen being a mess, right before it’s suddenly and amazingly immaculate when our guests arrive.  And I love sitting around the table with my husband at the head, saying a blessing over the wine and challah before eating one of our favorite meals.  But this year, although so many things are different, happiness is oozing from my pores.  There may be no wine for me, or dinner for 10 in our home, but instead we’re starting to create a home that will welcome a third person and that couldn’t make our entrance into 5773 any more wonderful.  We still celebrated with family and friends and today at services instead of looking around at the congregation aimlessly, we searched for the sweet couple in the back, holding a content new baby.  “Wow, that will be us next year”, I mouthed to Arion, and I don’t think we could hide our excitement from anyone in the vicinity.  So things may in fact be different and I know they will continue to change, but with what we have ahead, I’m nothing but thankful and overjoyed as we enter this new year.

L’Shanah Tovah from Arion, me, and our growing new addition.

Our gift to you… proof of the joy that awaits us.

photo_4b

blogsig

One response »

  1. Not going to lie, reading this brought tears to my eyes. So happy for you and Arion and this amazing little baby you’ll be bringing into the world. xxoo

Leave a Reply

