Mom and Dad visit for Memorial Day Weekend!!

Standard

This post is seriously lacking in the photo department, but that won’t stop me from writing about my parents visit to NYC this past weekend!!!  Now I am in CO every few months, but having them in my city is such a fun time and I really cherish it.  So much so, that I don’t carry my camera around as an accessory when they’re here because I just want to soak it up and not miss a thing (that or I have it in my purse 24/7 and just constantly forget to take it out, take your pick… grrr).  Most of these are courtesy of the iPhone, but you get the gist… My parents basically rock.

  • Thursday: They arrived late that night due to some awesome NYC thunderstorms, so we said hellos half-asleep and went to bed.
  • Friday: We met Sandy for brunch at Alice’s Tea Cup.   My parents met Sandy way back when in Australia when we were roomies and let’s face it, they adore her.  So it was fun to catch up and talk upcoming-wedding planning!  After being sufficiently full of Indian Chai Tea and Full-Fat Scones, we headed to the South Street Seaport.  On our agenda was show tickets, so we b-lined straight for the TKTS booth.  If I haven’t said it before, I HATE Times Square, so the fact that there is a place to get Broadway tickets anywhere other than that hell, makes me squeal like a little girl who just received her first Barbie (or was it just me that did that?).  Anyway, after a short-ish wait, success… 4th row center, mezzanine, for Memphis.  Now feeling quite accomplished we headed to the edge of the pier to relax and enjoy the view.  The weather was warm and perfect, except for the unnecessary amount of tourists that have started to invade the city for the summer.  And just to be clear, even one tourist is too many for my snarky attitude these days.  On the way home we said hello to the new Freedom Tower and snapped an obligatory photo.  And if you’re thinking, “that sounds like something a tourist would do”, consider yourself warned for calling me that.  Back at the apartment we ordered pizza and got ready for the show.  Now I know I said I hate Times Square, but I will always suck it up for a good show.  And Memphis did not disappoint.  In fact, it surpassed our expectations, being an awesome musical with the i-don’t-know-where-to-look-it’s-all-so-awesome choreography and voices that gave me chills every time they belted out a note.  I love Broadway.  After the show, we lingered just long enough for me to remember my hatred of the area and then walked east for dessert… Magnolia Bakery.  Cupcakes = Delicious.
  • Saturday: We started the day with brunch (shhh, it’s the name of the blog, you should be used to it by now) at French Roast.  Then, we had a relaxing stroll on The High Line, complete with walking through the water with mom to cool down.  Afterwards, we introduced my parents to the amazingness of Eataly, followed by sitting in Madison Square park with our Gelato.  For dinner we went to one of our favorite Mediterranean places, Beyoglu, and then headed to Brandy’s Piano Bar where we sang Billy Joel and show tunes for the rest of the night.
  • Sunday: We picked up breakfast sandwiches at Ess-a-Bagel and ate them in a little hideaway nearby with a waterfall, which I will not tell you the name of or give you a link to because then you will go there and it will no longer be my awesome little hiding spot in the city.  With full belly’s we headed to Brooklyn Flea and after full exploration of the goods, sat in a nearby park to enjoy the view of the New York skyline.  Once sufficiently hot, we cooled down in Union Square by shopping until we were tired and then went home to make some steaks on the grill (griddler) and watch a very depressing movie (Whistleblower).
  • Monday: We bought sandwiches and snacks and headed to Central Park to spend the day outside with friends.  It was hot and not too crowded and exactly the way I like my NYC summers.  Once we had enough of the sun, we came home to dinner which had been in the crockpot all day and introduced my parents to the amazing-ness that is the show Grimm.  If you’ve never seen it, do yourself a favor.
  • Tuesday: I held back tears as I sent my parents off in a cab to the airport… and then went upstairs and cried like a baby to my cats (I’m a real rock of strength, I tell ya!).

Now excuse me while I make my parents cry a little before I show you the photos….

To Mom and Dad (the real original New Yorkers), we loved having you here to visit.  I can’t express how much fun I had and how wonderful it was to be in my city, with you.  Thank you and love you.

Friday Photos…

photo 1

photo 2

photo 3

photo 4

IMG_0005

photo 2 (2)

Saturday photos…

IMG_0009

IMG_0010

IMG_0011

Sunday Photos…

blogsig

Leave a Reply

