The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

Standard

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot (for my mom’s bookclub because I’ll be in CO for it!!!)

Amazon Review:  Dwight Garner of the New York Times said, “I put down Rebecca Skloot’s first book, “The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks,” more than once. Ten times, probably. Once to poke the fire. Once to silence a pinging BlackBerry. And eight times to chase my wife and assorted visitors around the house, to tell them I was holding one of the most graceful and moving nonfiction books I’ve read in a very long time …It has brains and pacing and nerve and heart.”

My Review:  It’s hard for me to describe my reaction to this book, except to say, it’s a must read.  I have always been interested in science (just not the 10 extra years of schooling), so I really enjoyed learning about the medical progression of cell and tissue research over the past 50 years.  The story for me was also saturated with the tales of Henrietta’s family.  Such a strong and yet powerless family and their bond, although sometimes shaken, still remained solid.  I loved the author’s language throughout and feel that I now know so much more.  Maybe non-fiction is an entirely new world for me to explore, maybe not, but either way, read this one.  It’s long, but you won’t regret the historical knowledge and inspiration of family ties, gained.

Next up… Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand

**I was not asked to, or compensated for, writing this book review.

One response »

  1. Pingback: 23 Years After I First Met Kerri « Dancing Through Life…

Leave a Reply

