My Happy Place

Standard
My Happy Place

Also known as the sunshine state of CO.  I flew out two weeks ago on my mom’s 60th birthday to help start the celebrations (which if you ask Melissa included 4,000 parties in the course of a single week).  Of course, a trip to CO also meant being able to see my sister, bro-in-law, and most adorable nephew.  It was a whirlwind of family time that is always my favorite.

Now, a week narrated by photos.

We played in the sprinklers (read: Wes chased us with the hose).

Mom had ice cream cake!

Ate some seafood, in a land-locked state 😉

Colored in mini seats, with boys of all ages.

Sang Happy Birthday to Daddy and Gigi and then had HAPPY CAKE!

Took a bath (in approximately 14 years, he’ll kill me for this one).

Played “Elmo’s World” on the guitar.

Enjoyed a glorious weekend in Vail at the Cascade Village Resort and Spa.

Played Tennis (don’t let her smile deceive you, she had just threatened to throw me in the river).

Played on the see-saw.

Played in the pool.

Ate dinner at Up the Creek.

Ate a ton of the most amazing donuts, ever.

Were schooled in tennis.

Had cupcakes by Carol – along with a surprise party for mom.

One of my favorites to date of the three of us – trumped only by the one 10 years ago when we did shots of Limoncello.

Drove to Gigi’s house.

Launched rockets.

Snuggled.

And then said goodbye to the baby deer.

It was a fantastic trip and my poor row-mate on the plane had to endure some severe sniffles and tear wiping for 3.5 hours.  But as I said before, it was worth it.  I don’t think anyone can make me laugh like my sister, shop like my mom, dork-out like my dad, or launch into the pool like my nephew.  I am extremely lucky.  Not to mention my loving hubs by my side the entire time.  Until next time…

One response »

  1. This looks like the most fabulous vacation babe. I am so happy you got to spend some quality time with your family in the city you love most! xoxo 🙂

Leave a Reply

