Room: A Novel

Standard

Instead of just recapping all of the books I read at the end of every year, I have decided to let you know what I like/don’t like, as I read it, too 🙂  So, the first book of 2011…

Room: A Novel by Emma Donoghue

Amazon Best of the Month, September 2010: In many ways, Jack is a typical 5-year-old. He likes to read books, watch TV, and play games with his Ma. But Jack is different in a big way–he has lived his entire life in a single room, sharing the tiny space with only his mother and an unnerving nighttime visitor known as Old Nick. For Jack, Room is the only world he knows, but for Ma, it is a prison in which she has tried to craft a normal life for her son. When their insular world suddenly expands beyond the confines of their four walls, the consequences are piercing and extraordinary. –Lynette Mong

My Review: One of the most upsetting books I have read lately, yet not moving enough to really tell the story or keep me reading.  So much so, that I could only read a few pages at a time and it took me almost a month to complete (I usually average at least one book every 10 days to 2 weeks).  Very eye-opening into the child psychology after a traumatic event over a period of several years, but not something I would recommend to other readers.

Next up… Viola in Reel Life by Adriana Trigiani (for Bookclub!)

**I was not asked to, or compensated for, writing this book review.

Leave a Reply

